Get born, get school, GET UNI, get job, get car, pay tax and find a wife.

Standard

These days it seems unless you plan to attend university the minute you’ve finished school then  you shouldn’t really be acknowledged. So much pressure is put on children to know what they want to do, or at least have an idea, by the time they’re thirteen. When expected to pick their school subjects they’re told to choose ‘wisely’ cause it could affect them in the future. At thirteen I knew I hated the 8:30am school start and despised having to wear a tie, but ask me what I wanted to do with my life and I’d stare you blankly in the face before neglecting the question and shrugging my shoulders. Not because I wanted to be the biggest pain in the arse on the planet, I already had that title by then, but because I, like most people that age, genuinely was clueless. So why is the need to go to university still thrust upon us from such a young age?

Ken whats a better challenge? Deciding if it's right for YOU!

When I was in my final year of high school we were sorted into registration classes based on whether they thought we would go on to higher education or not. This was also, of course, decided before asking any of the students themselves. And Why? What fucking good does that do anyone? I was placed into a class who WOULD go on to university and when I informed my guidance teacher I planned to take either a gap year or attend a basic college course to make sure I definitely wanted to spend four years of my life studying this subject, she tried her damned hardest to change my mind -“But you’re REALLY clever.” or “Why waste another year of your life if you could get in now?”  Of course she lost. I’m a stubborn cunt. But I’m glad I’m a stubborn cunt, I did it my way and I’m now happy. However, there were plenty of people who didn’t do it their way. They instead listened to the schools advice. They were told ‘I know what I’m talking about’/’I’m older and I know better’ and have now either dropped out or have no idea why they’re studying the course they’re studying. There is no denying they’re clever but that still doesn’t stop them from wanting the fuck out of higher education. They hate it.

Now I’m not saying this is for everyone. For some people, yes, going to university straight from school is the best option and they love it. But there will be an equal amount of students who are probably thinking the opposite. Just because you’re clever doesn’t mean you’re not allowed to work out what it is you really want to do first. You’re probably about to get yourself into a ridiculous amount of debt, so why not make sure it’s semi worth it, y’know?

And what about those kids who just don’t see the appeal of university or college. They want to leave school and go straight into a job. Good on them. Why not? So why is this often frowned upon? Why should they be pushed aside? Why does the majority of the education system write them off? Fuck this brighter future shite. A bright future is one in which the participant is happy. Higher education or not.

4 responses »

  1. I agree, it’s insane that you should be expected to know what you wanna do at like 16. My head was full for fucking Harry Potter fanfiction and My Chemical Romance at that point – and look at me now, almost three years later I’m basically a different person.

    • Exactly. I mean, I didn’t even take Art at Standard grade and look at me now!
      I don’t think I know anyone who is still the exact same as they were when they were 13/14. If I did I’d be slightly worried.

  2. Great post.

    Thanks for giving me something to read while I kill time, and thanks for restoring my faith in humanity.

    Between the ages of 16 to 21, I have been thrown out of school, thrown out of college, been a bad cunt, ended up in a not-so-good scenario, went back and gained sufficient qualifications through various means, got a job and worked a year until I figured what to do, read and read, and got drunk, had fun, and now I’ve finally settled with a degree in Biology.

    During that time I have won and lost friends. Friends (I thought I had) were high on ‘achievement’ and the ‘If you’re not in University, you’re nothing’ brigade. Sly kicks from a bunch of people who are now so fucked in debt, with poor grades that it’s not even funny. Some people were set on University since they first heard of it, I was one of them. Fuck did I know what to do though. The ones that were nasty have been the ones that have fucked up themselves. Step aside, cunts, and let the pro’s handle this.

    There’s nothing wrong with not knowing what to do, I have achieved more in my life by being myself and going my own convoluted path than the conventional government set-up. People get fed into Universities and end up coming out and working in McDonalds. It really isn’t the be and end all. It isn’t set in Gold. I just hope I get some fun out of it.

Leave a Reply

